Daily Archives: January 22, 2009

Question: Do you write other books like the Alice series?

Question:
I have read every Alice book. I have a couple of questions. (1) Do you write other books like the Alice series? I know you’ve written alot, but I’m looking for something like the Alice books. (2) I read on your website that you said that, after Alice reach’s 18, you’ll do one more book. Is that what u meant? (3) If you do “do” one more book after she reach’s 18, will she reach 60 in that same book? lol sorry for the complicated Q’s.

PHYLLIS Replied:
I write lots of other books besides the Alice series, but not exactly like Alice. The boys/versus/girls books (“The Boys Start the War,” “The Girls Get Even),” is a series for younger readers, and other books–“Cricket Man,” “Ice,” “Blizzard’s Wake,” “Jade Green,” “Sang Spell,” are for teens. You are correct in that, after I write the next three or four books–27–there will be one last book called “Always Alice,” in which she goes from 18 to age 60, each chapter jumping a few years and hitting a high point of her life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Question: it’s really cool how u actually sound like the girl it’s so realistic

Question:
O cool lol hi! I don’t want 2 sound like a obsessive weird fan but coming from a teens perspective…. But it’s really cool how u actually sound like the girl it’s so realistic. U like sound so much like the girl herself not another person writing about Alice. And lol i really am thankful 4 ur books! About personal things i learned a lot of things that i would be 2 embarrassed 2 go ask my mom about. I sometimes wish there was a Patrick at my school….lol but after this book i started 2 be attracted 2 red head’s or guys name Patrick lol!

PHYLLIS Replied:
I’m so glad you feel this way about the Alice books, and am glad that they answer a lot of questions for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Question: I’m 21 and I just had a friend who lost her virginity in December…

Question:
I remember you telling me that the next Alice book after Almost Alice would be Alice Undecided… but now according to Amazon it is Intensely Alice. I’m intense as well so that title is cool with me… but is Alice Undecided moved for later or has the title been scrapped altogether?

Also, I’m 21 and I just had a friend who lost her virginity in December. Besides a Mormon friend I have who won’t have sex until marriage, I have no other friends who are still virgins! I hate all the cliche bullshit like “it’s a good thing you’re still a virgin.” And I know I won’t lose it this year… I just hate it. I’m so passionate you know, I just wish I had someone. I get really lonely here in my apartment. :-/ I have cats, but you know what that means … cat lady!

PHYLLIS Replied:

The editorial staff didn’t like the title “Alice Undecided,” and a member of my critique group, after hearing the manuscript read aloud, suggested “Intensely Alice.” Laura Melmed is one sharp cookie!

So often we get caught up in The Big Divide, as I call it. Virgins or not. Married or not. Pretty or not. Professionals or not. New Yorkers or not. The way I see it, it’s simply not that important, one way or the other. The Big Question is who are the friends in your life? What do you do in your spare time? What projects interest you? What activities excite or inspire you? Where do you go to meet people who share your beliefs and values? As you know, cats are nice, but still…. Put your energies into going places and doing things where the goal is to complete a project, or volunteer your help. You want to find supportive friends who would like to know you better. Whom you can bring back to that apartment to meet your cats and have a book discussion or a wine tasting or to watch a good movie with popcorn and pizza. Making yourself and your apartment! a warm and welcoming place for friends of both sexes will eventually solve the virginity problem.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Question: So my friends boyfriend is acting rather friendly toward me…

Question:
First i want to say that i feel very out of the loop. When did you change your web page? wow. I need to start visiting it more i like reading the letters and you answers.

I have a question, which is the main reason why i visited again. So my friends boyfriend is acting rather friendly toward me. Everything that he does to his girlfriend (i.e. tickling her in the hall and acting really flirty) he does with me. I kind of flirt back but that’s just my personality i don’t do it on purpose (my parents call me the flirt of the house). I want to tell my friend what is going on because i feel kind of guilty. i want to know if i should tell her or to just continue with how things are. Also does that mean i’m a slut? help please?

PHYLLIS Replied:
Good grief. A bit of flirting does not make one a slut. If this goes on in front of your girlfriend, OK. If he only does this when her back is turned, and you only respond when she’s not looking, then you’re both hiding something, and you’d better stop. Unless you want it to happen to you some day. At this point I wouldn’t tell her, she’s bound to find out on her own the way he behaves with other girls. Just don’t let the other girl be you.

And yes, the website has a whole new look and there are lots of new things to explore. Soon I’ll be able to answer your posts myself, as soon as I read them, instead of sending them first to the website and waiting until they have a chance to post them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Question: I would like to thank you for writing the Alice books…

Question:
I would like to thank you for writing the Alice books. The thing is, the series isn’t the most groundbreaking, or even the most popular, but this is the series that has affected me the most. And for that, I am eternally grateful. I am certain that this series will live, and live forever. Thank you.

PHYLLIS Replied:
You’re right. What I hear from readers is that the Alice books are the “most real” books they’ve read, and that’s what the series is intended to be–following one girl from third grade up to the age of 60 and see how she deals with the things that happen in her life. I’m so glad that you have found them helpful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail