Daily Archives: July 7, 2011

Pictures of Characters

 
 
Question:
 
Hello, I was wondering if maybe you could put pictures up of what all the characters in the books look like. I think that would be pretty cool because when you describe what the characters look like you say things along the lines of, “Liz is one of the most beautiful girls at the school…” I would really like to see what everyone looks like, and I think alot more people would too. So maybe there can be a section on the website where all the characters are and who they are.
Thank you!
ps. I really love your books.
 
Phyllis  replied:
 
I wish I had time to do that, but I don’t.  After the last book is published in 2013, we’re going to put the Alice “bible” online, which lists every single fact about every single character.  It’s over 100 pages long and you can catch up on all the things that ever happened in the Alice series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Must Finish a Series Once I Start

Question:
 
So I’ve been reading these books since I was in 6th grade. I have read every single one.
 
I am the type of person who must finish a series once I start it.I love these books- I mean I love these books- but I was pretty ready to let Alice go. So I finally got Incredibly Alice and was like “Okay, I’m done now…” Only to see that Alice’s college years are to be a series. When does it end??????
Just so you know, I really love these books. I even pretend I’m Alice sometimes. And I am forever in love with the name Patrick.
 
Phyllis replied:
 
If you’ve read “Incredibly Alice,” you have two more books to go:  “Alice On Board” and “Always Alice.”  They will be published in 2012 and 2013.
 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

It’s as if I was Alice

Question:       

 At my recent trip to the bookstore I spotted a book.  A book that had caught my attention.  The background of the book was blue.  Alice was sitting on a pink and orange suit case.  A butterfly, and name of three states o the suitcase.  Cool!  I thought.  I was so excited to begin the book.  It looked like a book I would 100% enjoy.  I sat down.  I opened the book right there in the bookstore.  I flipped to the first page.  I began reading.  As I read I felt as if I was Alice.  As if I was in the story.  The book is totally fun to read and absolutely phenomenal.  Then I asked my mom.  “Let’s go back to the bookstore, we need more Alice books.”  Not good enough.  Mom said no, but I have made a list of the Alice books I hope to get.  My list has seventeen Alice books. 
        I really want to thank you for writing an amazing book.  I love Alice, she is a character many people can relate to, and I love her and the book.  I have thought about being an author once.  I still would love to be one.  But, can you give me some advice, on how to build up my book.  I want to be an author like you.  Your the best, and I love your books.  Enjoy the rest of your summer, and have a good fourth of July.

 

Phyllis replied:

You have a lot of happy reading ahead of you.  I’m so glad you found the Alice books.  If you are thinking about becoming a writer, I think you would enjoy my book, “How I Came to be a Writer.”  Ask your librarian if she can get a copy for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail