Daily Archives: October 4, 2011

The Whole Series

Question:

 

Hi Mrs.Naylor I can’t belive i found your email address I hope this is real! 🙂 I just wanted to say I LOVE YOUR ALICE BOOKS! Im working on reading the whole series this year. They really inspire me and make me laugh! Im a 7th grader so I understand some of the things Alice goes through. I wish I had her books at home.At my school library we don’t have all the books so its impossible for me to read the whole series! 😦 but im gonna try the town library and hopefully they have them,if they dont…..I don’t know what I would do. I’d probably start crying i want to buy the whole series but I just can’t right now. My parents have already spent so much money buying stuff for me that I don’t really need now that I think about it.Well,I just wanted to say I love your Alice books and it would mean the world to me if you wrote back to me! I know you probably get a TON of email but I hope that you read mine. 🙂
Thanks for making and writing the Alice Series
 
Phyllis replied:
 
Amazon.com probably has all my books, and bookstores could special- order them for you.  But see if your librarian won’t  get the ones you want on “inter-librarian loan.”  That means the librarian finds out what other library has the book, orders it, waits until it’s available and is sent, then notifies you that the book is in.  It takes some work on the librarian’s part and it takes patience on yours, but it’s one way to get the books without purchasing them.  I’m so glad you like the series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Banned books

 Question:
 
 
 
I was looking through your blog (like I do every couple weeks) and I, as well as many others I assume, saw the critisism that was displayed. I do not want to harp on how wrong I think they were, since I do not know where they are coming from or their situation, but I do want to share my own oppinions with you.
I have been reading your Alice books since I was very, very young and have read each one over seven times. Each time I read them, I pick up soemthing new, and as I get older, your writing goes to a whole new level for me, and I am starting to relate more and more with Alice, since I am now a Sophmore in highschool. I feel like Alice is always there for me no matter the time. I go through soem pretty touch moments but I ALWAYS find consolation in ALice. I am currently in the application process to spend my Junior year abroad in either Italy or Brazil or Sweeden. I was interveiwed and they asked me who I admired the most out of anyone. I answeredthat you were my biggest role model, not only because I am passionate in being a writer, but because I love your openness to help young girls (and old women and boys) and I think you are very talented. I haven’t written to you in over a year, though I have read your blog a lot and continued to read Alice whenever I want some inspiration. I am struggling right now with friends, and parents, and sexuality, and these books provide thought provoking questions and help me learn a lot about sex since my mom is way too librel about such matters, and my dad won’t talk to me about them at all. Through the books I can see all sides of the spectrum. Just one question: How do you feel when your books are banned, and how do you feel when you get spiteful letters from angry parents?
 
Phyllis replied:

Thanks so much for your email.   Since the majority of my letters from parents are favorable, I don’t get too upset over the critical letters–I do try to understand where they are coming from.  I also sympathize with librarians who don’t have a school policy for dealing with requests to ban a book and sometimes, fearful of losing their jobs, decide to remove a book from the shelves.  It’s unfair that one or two parents should be able to decide what the children of other parents should or should not read.  Most librarians put a lot of time into deciding what books should be in their collection, and though parents’ input is important, the professional librarian should have the final.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail