Daily Archives: February 20, 2013

The Final Book

Question:

I read all the Alice books, at least twice per book. So now you say that there is another one coming out. Do you know know what day the book is coming out in stores? Also in the book, do Alice and Patrick get married?

Phyllis replied:

The final book, Always Alice, will be published this fall, but I don’t have an exact date yet.  And you know I can’t tell you whether Alice marries Patrick, or even whether she decides on marriage at all.  But the last book will tell you everything!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Please Don’t Make Alice 60!

Question:

Please don’t make Alice 60 in the least book (sad to hear it’s final BTW) Come on she is 18 and once in 3rd grade, it’ll ruin the whole series! And what fun is it to write about a grandma? Is she going to be 6o through the WHOLE book!??????????? She can’t be!!!! Please maybe 30 or 40, before it’s published, but remember I’m not making u. But I do love Alice and I’m looking forward to Always Alice.

Phyllis replied:

Relax.  Take a deep breath.  The final book will be around 500 pages long, and Alice starts out at 18, goes through college, goes through her 20’s, her 30’s, her 40’s and 50’s.  There is a LOT happening, so you won’t want to miss any of it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Appreciation

Question:

I have been a huge fan of the Alice books ever since I was in grade school. I pretty much grew up with Alice and the gang. It was the series that really impassioned me for reading from a young age. I’m 26 years old now and in law school doing human rights work all over the world, yet my fiancé teases me for sneaking off with the kindle to read the latest Alice books.  I just wanted to express my appreciation for your work (the Alice series and others). I know that your books must touch other children, my generation and the ones after mine, in significant ways.

Phyllis replied:

I hear from a lot of other twenty-something women who still sneak off to read the Alice books, and I’m delighted.  Thanks so much for taking time to write to me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Always Alice: One-word Hint

Question:

Hi Mrs. Naylor 🙂 I’m 11 years old and from Memphis, Tennessee. I have grew  up with Alice. I have read all of the Alice books, I love her like a sister and a best friend. Alice means so much to me. Thank you so much for creating her. I just wish they would make another movie. You are the best author in the world, I’m serious. I can’t wait for Always Alice. Can you give us a hint? Just a one word hint? Like you did for Alice on board you said: Mitch. So thanks so much for everything!!

Phyllis replied:

A one-word hint?  Here it is:  Oklahoma.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Why write an Alice “series?”

Question:

I am 13 years old. I was just reading through the Alice website looking at comments and that’s when i thought “what made her write the Alice series?” Perhaps you could answer this question. By the way I am SO excited for the last Alice book “Always Alice” even if I’m a little sad considering it will be the last book. I have read all of the Alice books and Alice really and truly feels like one of my best friends and it’s heart wrenching to see her go but, all good things must come to an end. Alice has taught me so much since i started reading the books. The Alice series will always be my favourite series I’m sure.

Phyllis replied:

I didn’t start out to write a series.  I just wanted to write a book about a motherless girl looking for a role model, and then readers and reviewers asked for more.  I’m so glad you enjoy the Alice books.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Alice Informal Book Club

Question:

I found a few of your Alice books in the library when I was in sixth grade, after my teacher had read us Shiloh in class. I remember how excited I was to find out that the Alice books were part of series, and how I begged my parents to buy me the books for my Christmas gift. I began taking the books with me to school and sharing them with my friends. Soon, all of my Alice books were circulating around the classroom, being passed from girl to girl. Nearly everyone was reading and sharing the stories of a normal girl growing up with her two best friends and her dad and brother. I’m 23 now and my two best friends from grade school and I still eagerly await the release of the new Alice book every summer. Just like when we were in sixth grade, the new books gets passed around from friend to friend. From reading your books, the characters you have created, Alice, Liz, Pamela, Gwen and Patrick, I feel as if I know them and have grown up, just like I have with my two best grade school friends. I want to thank you for your books which have given my two friends and I the chance to create an informal book club that has spanned our adolescence and into our young adulthood.

Phyllis replied:

I love the idea of have an informal book club in which books are passed from friend to friend.  It’s wonderful to know what a long life each book is given.  Thanks so much for writing to me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Thanks

Question:

I just wanted to send my thanks for writing these books. I have grown up with these books. I am now 24 years old with children of my own, and I still read these books religiously. I am really sad that this series is coming to an end. While I understand that it must happen, I am sad that I won’t get to read about my favourite characters anymore. Thank you not only for writing these amazing books, but for creating characters that I will truly miss in my life.

Phyllis replied:

I know—I’m a little sad too.  But there are so many other characters in my head, waiting their turn in a book.  Thanks for taking time to tell me how much the Alice books meant to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail