Daily Archives: July 22, 2013

So Sad To Read The Last Book

Question:

I’ve been reading the Alice books for years and truly felt like I grew up  with her.  Even though I’m a few years older (21, preparing to graduate college), I still enjoy the books so much and waiting for the final one is  bittersweet.  I’ve recently purchased all of the bind-up books to re-read and recommend to the children that I babysit and I was awed again by how well you are able to capture the essence of a girl in the most confusing and exciting part of her life.  Thank you so much for years of fantastic reading, I’m so sad but excited to read the last chapter in the Alice series.

Phyllis replied:

I know.  There’s a sadness for me too, but it’s time for Alice to grow up and be on her own.  And I know you’re at least a little bit curious to see how she lives her life, no?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Bought The Whole Series

Question:

I read ‘Starting With Alice’ in third grade over and over. I never knew there were 25 (and soon to be 26) more books. Now, I’m a sophomore in high school. I just ordered the whole series including all three prequels and I am not such a fan of prequels, which led me to wonder if I should just read the prequels first or save them for last?

Phyllis replied:

I’d read them now.  It’s fun to see what Lester was like as a teenager, and to watch their interaction as they grow up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

MITCH

Question:
 
I loved Mitch in Alice on Board. Will we learn about him in the last book?

Phyllis replied:
 
I loved him too.  Alice….?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Coming To Canada?

Question:

I am 13 and have read your book “I like him he likes her” and loved it I am going to read the next one after that. In grade 6 my teacher read to the class “Jade green” I had no idea you wrote that until recently and I think that is so cool!!!!!!! P.s. I loved it!

I want to be a writer and I think you are such an inspiration! I love to read especially your books.

I was also wondering if you have ever been to ThunderBay Ontario? (in Canada) and if you are planing to come hear? For book stuff I know you probably haven’t and you probably won’t but it is worth asking!

Phyllis replied:

Oh, I wish I could be coming to Canada on my book tour, but I’m afraid that’s impossible this time.  I don’t think I’ve been to Thunder Bay, but I’ve been in Canada a number of times.  I’m glad you liked Jade Green.  It’s a scary book, but it was loads of fun to write.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

Growing Up With Alice

Question:
 
I have enjoyed reading the other books, each one is different, but similar.  It is like growing up with Alice and I like that.  I started at the beginning as I wanted to know how it all started with Alice.

Some books about Alice I enjoy more than others.  I guess I’m a mix of Alice and Elizabeth and some of me…I like how I can relate to the characters like that.
 
Phyllis replied:
 
I think I’m a mix too.  I see some of myself in each girl.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail

MY FAVORITE AUTHOR

You are an amazing author to me! I didn’t like reading a lot, but my 4th grade teacher introduced me to your books and I loved it! she introduced me to your book Reluctantly Alice, I loved that book now I go to the library with my parents and ask if they have any Philis Reynolds Naylor books and they show me where they are and I pick a lot of your books. And the lady asked u like reading a lot dot u? and I smiled and said yes. You are like.. my favorite author in the whole wide world! Your books are the best whenever I am bored or lonely I take them and read them! now I have a read almost 7 of your books and I love them all, I am really happy that my teacher introduced me to your books and I am hoping I could find a lot others of your books ad read them this September when I am in 5th grade.

Phyllis replied:
 
It always makes me happy to know that one of my books introduced someone to the joy of reading.

If you like the Alice books, remember that there are 28 of them, and if you look at the list at the front of each book, you’ll see the order in which they were written.  There are lots of good writers out there, so I expect you will find books by many other authors you like too.  Happy summer!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fan Mail